August 25th, 2011

The Replacement Theory – Action Short Film

Filmmaking
Replacement Theory Abakan Pictures and Diamond View Studios

This summer my father and I, under my film company name, Abakan Pictures, teamed up with Diamond View Studios to enter the Action Film Challenge in Tampa. The challenge is to make an action film in two weeks, 10-15 minutes long. Unfortunately, we started a week late, didn’t even meet to talk about it till 5 days in. We were racing the clock on the final night, but we did it, and were very pleased with how it turned out.

We filmed every night for a week, in different locations. The basement of an office building, in the woods, at a college, in a hotel. Check out The Replacement Theory, and let me know what you think:

Filed under: Filmmaking | Posted on August 25th, 2011 by Nick | 7 Comments »

June 12th, 2011

Summer Creativity: Sunscreen Movie Camp

Filmmaking

Nick at Sunscreen Film Festival

As you know, it is summer! Now I don’t know about you guys, but I feel like doing something fun for 2011. My idea of fun, as you may have read in one of my earlier posts, is making a film. And now that its summer, it’s time for the summer 2011 Camp for Young Film-Makers! Put on by the Sunscreen Film Festival and Studio@620, along with some amazing people. I took this camp 2 years ago, when I first decided I wanted to pursue film, but this camp BLEW MY MIND. I thought I knew my way around, but just in these two weeks, I learned so much and got so much experience, that I have never looked at film the same way. It’s a very hands-on course in which, the first week, teens learn about cinema and production through actually writing a script and revising it. At the end of the first week, two scripts are chosen. The next week, the teens are split into two groups, given a script, and go to work on the production of their short film! At the end of the 2 weeks, the films are showcased for all the family and friends to come see.

Putting all of the knowledge they have collected in the previous week to good use, the films are always entertaining to watch. A huge learning experience, designed just the right way so that the kids don’t lose interest, and actually remember the information. Actually making the film implants the basics firmly in the brain. I personally think this camp changed my life, and helped me decide that film is really what I want to do. So it can also help kids decide if they really want to pursue film, or if they are just looking for a fun way to spend 2 weeks of their summer. Either way it’s definitely worth the money, and I would recommend it to anyone.

The main teacher and program head is Dave DeBorde; a personal role model of mine. He’s very funny and laid back and it’s not hard for the kids to quickly warm up to the idea of being outspoken and letting their creativity shine. He sort of took me under his wing by putting me on my first actual film set after the camp was over. He was directing, and on that team I met a few other college filmmakers, and worked with them, and since then I have branched out and even won awards for some short films in film festivals. So that’s just a little idea on how big this camp could be for you! Aside from Dave, he usually brings in students of his that are experienced filmmakers, to lend a hand and some advice. So you really are in good hands with this camp. Anything you don’t know, they most likely do, so ask! All of the equipment is supplied for you so don’t have to worry about anything but the information, and your vision! The participants also take turns directing, lighting, or operating the camera, and the whole thing is a blast!

All in all, this camp is pretty much the best summer camp I’ve ever experienced. “Camp” is sort of an understatement. It’s more of a workshop, where you can have fun and learn at the same time. The cost is 500 dollars. But wait! There is a film contest for the best film submitted before the camp, which starts July 18th. The winner gets a scholarship to the camp! I think I know what I’ll be doing. ;)

Sunscreen Camp page
Sunscreen Camp Scholarship Contest

To view the film my team made at the camp in 2008, check out The Perfect Guy:

Filed under: Cool Websites, Filmmaking | Posted on June 12th, 2011 by Nick | No Comments »

December 20th, 2010

Adobe Photoshop CS5 – Five Cool Features

Cool Web Sites

What can be done with Photoshop in the new CS5 is just sick. To think of the hours saved with some of these features. I wish I could afford it. Thanks to TerryWhiteTechBlog for the demo. Check out these five amazing tools:

Filed under: Cool Websites | Posted on December 20th, 2010 by Nick | 3 Comments »

December 13th, 2010

Star Wars Review – By a 3 Year Old

Video Game Review

Check out Emily. She rocks with her review of Star Wars…

Filed under: Movie Reviews | Posted on December 13th, 2010 by Nick | 2 Comments »

November 19th, 2010

Toribash Fighting Game Review

Video Game Review
toribash online fighting game image

 Toribash is a physics-based fighting game, in which you click your “tori’s” joints, in order to make them contract, extend, raise, lower, or rotate. Doing so
with different combinations will allow your tori to do different moves, each customisable by the combination or parts you click. You can design your own moves with this. In the game, it starts a match with your tori, facing another tori, in a completely blank room in which there is only you two, and you fight. The way you fight, is there is a number of turn frames, (varying depending on the mod you are using) and you click out your moves, press space, and a certain number of turn frames go by. Then you click your next move, and so on. You can see what you are about to do by your “ghost”, which is a semi-transparent outline of you, moving into the future according to what combination of parts you click.

One of my favorite features is that you can play online with the Multiplayer feature. In order to keep things moving, you only have a certain amount of time to click out your move, before the turn frames jump ahead. If you’re fast, you can end your turn early with space. There are alot of people on multiplayer, so you always fight someone new. Some people even have “skins” or “textures”, which are basically outfits or themes you can buy for your tori via “tori credits”. Online, you are given a rank, and a belt. The more games you win with toribash multiplayer, the lower your rank goes, and the higher your belt gets. I am currently a black belt, but there are some people who have 3rd and 4th dan black belts, and so on. Everyone starts at “unranked” and with a white belt. I really like that aspect because it challenges you to break away from the stereotyping of being called a “noob” everytime someone sees your belt/rank, and you keep fighting until you win and become better.

I made a fan vid from toribash excerpts, so you can get a feel for what the action can be like:

You don’t have to fight in multiplayer mode though, you can fight against a lifeless tori, called “Uke”, in Free Play mode. You can even click Uke, and make moves for him, so you can choreograph a fight between the two, exactly how you want it. You can also save your replays in any mode. Aside from the multiplayer feature, I would have to say I’ve spent literally hours clicking away with the Mod list. You can get to this list by going to Setup>Mods. This is a list of mods that people have made, that you can fight in. Some have buildings, some have swords and knives, and some shake the game up completely and allow you to parkour or skateboard.

I think Toribash is an awesome game. Yes, you have to download it, but its 100% free. The latest version as of right now I believe, is 3.9. So heres a link to the toribash website where you can download it, and hopefully you go check it out. Honestly, the first couple weeks I was playing with it, I thought it was so hard, that I almost gave up. But once you get the hang of it I PROMISE you, you will not be able to tear away from the computer. If you like physics games, and fighting games, Toribash is the game for you.

Filed under: Video Game Reviews | Posted on November 19th, 2010 by Nick | 3 Comments »

Categories

Filmmaking

Follow Me?

Tags

action addicting games animation april fools book Book Reviews cloverfield cloverfield monster cloverfield toy comics contest Cool Websites events extreme sports fantasy Filmmaking flash games humor indie film kid art kid bloggers kid blogging kid blogs kids book review marvel mix music miyazaki mmorpg games movie-making Movie Reviews movie trailers music News Nick Chatter online games photoshop rants robert pattinson rpg games star wars sunscreen tv video video games widget

Archives

Links

Copyright © 2017 Kid Reviewer | Movie Reviews | Book Reviews.

Wordpress themes